You Are Leaving

You are now leaving Santee Electric Cooperative's web site and are going to a web site that is not operated by us. We are not responsible for the content or availability of linked sites. Please be advised that we do not represent either the third party or you, the member, if you enter into a transaction. Further, the privacy and security policies of the linked site may differ from those practiced by Santee Electric Cooperative.


Member Login Search Site Contact Santee Electric Cooperative Inc.
About Santee Electric Cooperative Inc.

Nav Location: SEC Home  >   About Santee Electric  >   News and Press  >  Don't miss the 2017 Annual Meeting


Don't miss the 2017 Annual Meeting

Article was added on Saturday, April 01, 2017

Official Notice of Annual Meeting of Members

The 78th Annual Meeting of Members of Santee Electric Cooperative, Inc. will be held at the Kingstree Senior High School Gymnasium on Martin Luther King, Jr. Highway, Kingstree, S.C. on Tuesday, April 18, 2017. Registration and Voting will be from 1:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m. The business meeting will start at 6:30 p.m.

The following members have been nominated for trustees by the Nominating Committee pursuant to the Bylaws: FOR A THREE YEAR TERM:
District No. 6 Billy L. Morris, Jr. EFFINGHAM, S.C.
District No. 8 James E. Scott GEORGETOWN, S.C.
District No. 9 Harry R. Walters ANDREWS, S.C

The names of the candidates have been posted at our Kingstree, S.C. office as required by our Bylaws.
Please note: No one can register for an absent member (husband and wife are one member) When registering to vote, you will be required to present one of the following forms of identification: (1) Driver's License, (2) State Identification Card or (3) Social Security Card. Members that are non-natural persons (ex. Corporations or political bodies) may vote their membership interest through an officer or other officially designated delegate. Proof of authority for the person to vote the non-natural person's membership interest must be provided to the Credentials and Election Committee upon or prior to registration. The proof of authority must be indicated on the entity's stationary and signed by a person other than the person casting the ballot. Other forms of proof will not be accepted. Note: proprietorships (members doing business under a trade name) will not be entitled to a separate vote for their unincorporated business. Each member who registers will receive a Sherpa Blanket and a $15 credit on their utility bill. Following the meeting, a drawing will be held for a 2003 Chevrolet Tahoe, a VIZIO 65" LED Ultra HD Home Theater Display TV, Chest Freezer, Apple iPad 2 and many small appliances, gifts and energy vouchers. Registered member is NOT required to stay for the business meeting in order to win door prizes. Registration guarantees your name is placed in the drawing and you will be contacted if you win. Pursuant to the Santee Electric Cooperative, Inc. Bylaws, each applicant who has applied for electric service by Santee Electric Cooperative, Inc. since March 1, 2017, is invited to attend the Annual Meeting and participate in all gift and prize drawings but cannot be considered an Official Member prior to April 27, 2017. In addition to the regular business before the membership for 2017, an amendment to the Santee Electric Cooperative Bylaws as shown is being proposed for your consideration. Each Cooperative member is urged to be present and take part in the Annual Meeting. Walter L Sanders Secretary

Proposed Bylaw Amendment To Be Determined at the 2017 Annual Meeting
Article IV TRUSTEES Section 3.  Nominations. It shall be the duty of the Board of Trustees to appoint, not less than ninety days or more than one hundred and twenty days before the date of a meeting of the members at which Trustees are to be elected, a committee on nominations consisting of not less than five nor more than eleven members who shall be selected from different sections of the project area so as to insure equitable representation. No member of the Board of Trustees may serve on such committee. The committee shall prepare and post at the principal office of the Cooperative at least sixty days before the meeting a list of nominations for Trustees, but 1% or more of the members of the Cooperative, acting together, may make additional nominations in writing over their signatures, listing their nominee(s) in like manner and filing the same with the Cooperative, not less than sixty days prior to the meeting and the Secretary shall post such nominations at the same place where the list of nominations made by the committee is posted. The Secretary shall mail with the notice of the meeting or separately, but at least seven days before the date of the meeting, a list of the number of Trustees, shown by district, to be elected and the names and addresses of the candidates nominated for each district, specifying separately the nominations made by petition, if any. The names are to be arranged by Districts and in alphabetical order, except that incumbents shall be placed first on the list so arranged. At the meeting of members, the Secretary of the Cooperative shall place in nomination the names of the official candidates for each district. Election of Trustees shall be by ballots. The ballots shall list the candidates selected by the Nominating Committee and by Petition. The names shall be arranged by Districts and in alphabetical order, except that the incumbents shall be placed first in order on such ballot. Each member of the Cooperative present at the meeting shall be entitled to vote for one candidate for each district, for which a Trustee is to be elected at that particular meeting. The candidate receiving the highest number of votes for each District at this meeting shall be considered elected as Trustee. In the event that the number of candidates seeking election does not exceed the number of trustees required in a particular district, balloting may be dispensed with in respect to that district, and if there are no objections, the nominee may be elected by acclamation.

<< Back to the News and Press Listing


Contact Santee Electric About This Site Privacy Policy Terms of Use Site Map
copyright © Santee Electric Cooperative Inc. 2012-2018  •  Select Country: United States of America